top of page
  • Writer's pictureMarika Garito

Rika Reveal: Get to Know Me

I figured why would you care to read anything by someone you have no clue about so here is a little insight into the weirdo world of me!


1. I once was a finalist in a gum naming competition. As a consolation prize, they sent me a baker's dozen or so packs with my suggested name on it. I still think Permamint is a great name for a long-lasting gum!

2. I have taken aerials (rope, silks, static trapeze) and flying trapeze lessons. I have always been obsessed with the circus (minus the animal abuse of course) and loved learning those skills. It is also the hardest workout I have ever done to this day; I couldn't even shampoo my hair the first time!


I am available for parties or as an extra in "The Greatest Showman II"

3. I volunteered for a year at the local aquarium. Animals have always been a passion of mine and growing up I considered being a zoologist or marine biologist...until I realized I sucked at science. This gave me an opportunity to work closely with exotic animals like penguins, hippos, small reptiles and mammals. While it was very fulfilling and educational, it was also extremely hard work on top of a full time job. I have a lot of respect for all the biologists there and hope to be involved again someday.

4. I used to be almost fluent in Japanese. Used to. I took Japanese from 7th grade through high school graduation and loved it! But it is 100% true that if you don't use it, you lose it. Unfortunately I have most definitely lost it except for a few words and phrases. I also took Italian and French in college, also useless to me now.

5. I've been to 29 states and 4 countries so far. Besides my family, traveling is my absolute favorite thing in the world! If I could, I would be off on a different adventure every month! But I am lucky enough to travel a few times a year. I love exploring nature, small towns, city markets, you name it! It brings me joy and peace and is absolutely an addiction!


Bighorn sheep in Zion National Park, Utah

6. I have a running list of random celebrities (sort of) I've met. Tone Loc, who brought you that hip hop hit, Funky Cold Medina, was the entertainment at the small neighborhood bar where I celebrated my 21st birthday. Atlantic City brought me Sinbad and Coolio on separate occasions and Michael Phelps was at the airport in Louisiana. While all these were obvious highlights of my life, I would really like to round out the bunch with a Tom Hanks or Meryl Streep.


Just me, my sisters and Coolio "living in a gangsta's paradise".

7. I am extremely claustrophobic. If stairs are a possibility, I am skipping the elevator (14 floors currently being my max). And it's a miracle I haven't fallen out of a roller coaster yet as I make sure I still have wriggle room in case we get stuck.

8. I like the smell of skunk. It's true and it makes no sense as my other favorite smells are toasted marshmallows, suntan lotion and something known only as the "Mom-mom smell". Which contrary to what you may be thinking, it is not moth balls or anything gross. It was basically the clean, bleached sheets at my beloved Mom-mom's house but they radiated such freshness and comfort. I'd give anything to have that back.

9. I am terrified of the dentist. Blame it on the sadistic bastard who first worked on my teeth when I was a child for instilling a life-long, sometimes debilitating, fear of the dentist. I woke up in the middle of a procedure when I was a kid and he said it was too late to put me back under and finished drilling or whatever as I screamed. Once I became an adult, I avoided going until I got engaged and decided it was time to reverse years of neglect. I had to get the gas just to sit in the chair. By sheer bravery and willpower, I have been able to outgrow the need for gas but make no mistake, every time I leave my now regular appointments, I feel like I could lift a car.

10. I don't like birthday cake. I never had a huge sweet tooth (although that seems to be slowly changing as I get older unfortunately). But I especially hated cake with that sugary, fake icing. So instead, my mom would always be sure to stick my candles in birthday donuts, birthday pie, birthday angel food, etc. Another fun fact? I also never ate ice cream until my 20's due to having sensitive teeth and generally not really caring for it. While my palate now appreciates ice cream, my waistline alas, does not.


While visually pleasing, I'll make my birthday wish on another type of pastry.

73 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page