top of page
  • Writer's pictureMarika Garito

Traveling, My Hair Thanks You

Updated: Mar 7, 2019

Everyone has a bad habit, a nervous tic, a stress-induced coping mechanism. Maybe you do it deliberately, maybe its subconscious; nail biting, chewing on the inside of your cheek, hand-wringing, etc. Mine? Picking my split ends. Beauty gurus everywhere are gasping I’m sure. And believe me; I know it’s damaging especially since my hair is already thinning due to age and genetics. But I am completely helpless in fighting the urge. As I slow to a red light, one hand is already reaching for a strand to inspect. While watching TV, every commercial is an opportunity to go through my ends like a chimp. My lap is constantly littered with evidence, thin slivers of hair confetti though this is not a cause for celebration.

I have even created terminology to describe the various versions I may find. For instance, a multi – a single strand with numerous splits, this is the holy grail of split end picking! There is also a perfect environment to conduct my dissection. I have brown hair so I prefer to have a plain, pale-colored background and natural light to aid in my search.


But all of this is just an unfortunate side effect of my underlying stress and anxiety. My inability to shut my mind off, even if I don’t realize I am harboring a million things. So what does this have to do with traveling? From the moment I arrive in my destination, this tic completely stops.


It's true. My shoulders relax and descend from up near my ears, another symptom of tension my body has no control over. I don’t worry about work, food shopping, cleaning, or any other of the 100 chores adults have to do. I am not thinking about my weight or past regrets. I am completely in the moment, something I am trying to be more conscious of on a daily basis.


The control freak in me calms down and though I always have the trip planned to a T, I find I love when we veer off schedule to check out a pop up market or restaurant I hadn’t vetted on TripAdvisor. I actually go with the flow. A red light on vacation is an opportunity to look at the scenery and by the time I hit the hay, I am blissfully exhausted and happy at a full day of exploration. No time to fret and replay and analyze. I am at peace.



Traveling brings out my best self. Open, carefree, excited every morning about what lies ahead and thankful every evening for what I’ve experienced. I am sincerely trying to incorporate these attributes into everyday life; to be able to relax and enjoy the simple things without having to buy a plane ticket. But I can always count on vacation to give me exactly what I need, an escape from myself...and a much needed break for my tresses.

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page